Collection FMRA

The FMRA collection houses over 11,000 ephemera, multiples and artists’ books. The collection includes books, magazines, posters, flyers, stickers, cassettes, flyers, postcards, vinyl, CDs, DVDs, web pages, emails, etc., from the 1960s to the present day. Organized according to simple categories, this collection naturally reveals sub-sets and offers cross-readings of the different fields of creation: graphic design, sound and literary creation, magazines, poetry, etc.

Artist publishing thrives on innovative artistic practices that take unusual forms: digital or offset prints, sound, digital or videotapes, engravings, vinyl, poor multiples, photographs, image quotations, photocopies and other industrial or digital objects… It’s difficult for some to consider these forms as original works, i.e. not reproductions of a pre-existing work - yet they are indeed art. It was to meet the need for a research fund on this subject that the cneai = created the FMRA collection when it opened in 1997.


The collection instinctively has its roots in the 1960s, when making art in published form meant breaking free from political and economic boundaries. These media works possess a potential for reproduction that heralds the sharing of artistic authority with their recipients, a mutualization of copyright. It’s also a striking paradox that the more open, free and unlimited the edition, the more rapidly it becomes impossible to find. Its distribution channels are unmarked and resistant to appropriation, playing the role of a parallel art history.


More than 2,500 artists are represented in this collection, including :
Vito Acconci, Laurie Anderson, Bernd and Hilla Becher, Joseph Beuys, Jean-François Bory, Jean-Baptiste Bruant, James Lee Byars, Ulises Carriòn, Henri Chopin, Guy de Cointet, Gérard Collin-Thiébaut, Isabelle Cornaro, Jan Dibbets, DONUTS, Peter Downsbrough, Céline Duval, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Robert Filliou, Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, Camille Henrot, Will Holder, Karl Holmqvist, Douglas Huebler, Ben Kinmont, Martin Kippenberger, Pierre Leguillon, Christian Marclay, Paul McCarthy, László Moholy-Nagy, Nam June Paik, Carsten Nicolai, Richard Nonas, Roman Ondàk, Seth Price, Michael S. Riedel, Allen Ruppersberg, Claude Rutault, Yann Sérandour, David Shrigley, Ernest T., Valie Export, etc., sometimes through their most secret and committed work.
The furniture OBU / Original Bipolar Unit accompanies the FMRA. Presentation here > obu-catalogue.pdf.


So, by opening an archive box, visitors can discover :
Dora Garcia’s libelle N°7 “Real Artists Don’t Have Teeth”, a multiple consisting of a vinyl and a poster contained in an envelope; “Eye of the Beholder”, an embroidered coat of arms of General Idea from 1989; a card game by Claude Closky, “Mudam playing cards”, made in 2005; a vinyl by Allan Kaprow, entitled “How to make a Happening”, dated 1966; a book by Yona Friedman, “L’habitat c’est l’affaire de tous : mais particulièrement la vôtre”, published in 1977.


Sylvie Boulanger : “By entering a collection, ephemera acquire the status of a work of art. It’s not a question of a gallery or a library, nor of a museum-type collection, but of a practice: collecting the results of independent publishing can be placed on the side of experimental practice. As Godard once said, “A free and independent producer is on the side of the artists” “.

Collection FMRA

La collection FMRA accueille plus de 11,000 éphéméras, multiples et livres d’artistes. Ce fonds est composé de livres, revues et magazines, posters, flyers, stickers, cassettes, dépliants, cartes postales, vinyles, CD, DVD, pages Web, emails, etc., des années 60 à nos jours. Organisé suivant des catégories simples, ce fonds fait apparaître naturellement des sous-ensembles et propose des lectures croisées des différents domaines de création : du graphisme, de la création sonore et littéraire, des revues, de la poésie, etc.

La publication d’artiste prospère avec les pratiques artistiques innovantes qui prennent des formes inhabituelles : impressions numériques ou offset, bandes sonores, numériques ou vidéographiques, gravures, vinyles, multiples pauvres, photographies, citations d’images, photocopies et autres objets industriels ou numériques… Il est difficile pour certains de considérer ces formes comme des œuvres originales, c’est-à-dire qui ne reproduisent pas une œuvre préexistante – cependant, il s’agit bien d’art. C’est pour répondre au besoin de disposer d’un fonds de recherche sur ce sujet que le cneai = a créé la collection FMRA dès son ouverture en 1997.


La collection prend instinctivement sa source dans les années 1960 ; faire de l’art sous forme publiée revenait alors à s’émanciper des frontières politiques et économiques. Ces œuvres-médias possèdent un potentiel de reproduction qui annonce le partage de l’autorité artistique avec leurs destinataires, une mutualisation du droit d’auteur. Par un paradoxe saisissant aussi, plus une édition est ouverte, gratuite et à tirages illimités, plus elle devient rapidement introuvable. Elle emprunte des circuits de diffusion qui ne sont pas balisés et qui résistent à l’appropriation, jouant ainsi le rôle d’une histoire de l’art parallèle.


Plus de 2500 artistes sont présents dans cette collection, tels que :
Vito Acconci, Laurie Anderson, Bernd et Hilla Becher, Joseph Beuys, Jean-François Bory, Jean-Baptiste Bruant, James Lee Byars, Ulises Carriòn, Henri Chopin, Guy de Cointet, Gérard Collin-Thiébaut, Isabelle Cornaro, Jan Dibbets, DONUTS, Peter Downsbrough, Céline Duval, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Robert Filliou, Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, Camille Henrot, Will Holder, Karl Holmqvist, Douglas Huebler, Ben Kinmont, Martin Kippenberger, Pierre Leguillon, Christian Marclay, Paul McCarthy, László Moholy-Nagy, Nam June Paik, Carsten Nicolai, Richard Nonas, Roman Ondàk, Seth Price, Michael S. Riedel, Allen Ruppersberg, Claude Rutault, Yann Sérandour, David Shrigley, Ernest T., Valie Export, etc. parfois à travers la part de leur œuvre la plus secrète et la plus engagée.
Le mobilier OBU / Original Bipolar Unit accompagne les FMRA. Présentation ici > obu-catalogue.pdf.


Ainsi, en ouvrant une boîte d’archive, le visiteur pourra découvrir :
Le libelle N°7 de Dora Garcia « Real Artists Don’t Have Teeth », un multiple composé d’un vinyle et d’une affiche contenus dans une enveloppe ; « Eye of the Beholder », un blason brodé en forme d’armoirie de General Idea de 1989 ; un jeu de carte de Claude Closky, « Mudam playing cards », réalisé en 2005 ; un vinyle d’Allan Kaprow, intitulé « How to make a Happening », daté de 1966 ; un livre de Yona Friedman, « L’habitat c’est l’affaire de tous : mais particulièrement la vôtre », édité en 1977.


Sylvie Boulanger : « En entrant dans une collection, les éphéméras acquièrent le statut d’œuvre d’art. Il ne s’agit ni d’une galerie ou d’une bibliothèque, ni d’une collection de type muséale, mais d’une pratique : collectionner les résultats de l’édition indépendante peut être rangé du côté de la pratique expérimentale. Godard disait de la même manière : “Un producteur libre et indépendant est à ranger du côté des artistes” ».